Back to Charity vs. Justice


Charity will never be true charity unless it takes justice into account … Let no one attempt with small gifts of charity to exempt themselves from the great duties imposed by justice.

– Pope Pius XI, Divini Redemptori (On Atheistic Communism #49)

A few of my earlier “micro-posts” that set out my belief that in the legal system vis a vis pro bono publico, charity is often confused with justice. To these, I add a thoughtful article from DavidHilfiker.com, “Justice and the Limits of Charity”.

About ProBonoGA

Lawyer and justice architect wannabe... I am the pro bono director for Georgia Legal Services Program and direct a program that is funded by GLSP and the State Bar of Georgia. I am a lawyer licensed to practice law in the state of Georgia, and not in any other jurisdiction. Nothing posted on this blog should be considered legal advice. Your use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship with me. I do not have an active legal practice and do not have clients. I am not using this site to market to clients. I do not recommend attorneys or law firms. If I reference an attorney or a law firm in this blog, I do so to tell a story, make a point, or urge you to think about an issue presented by that attorney or law firm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment