Thoughts while the dehumidifier hums


A disaster is just another opportunity to incur debt.

This morning’s news broadcast gushed that the disaster could be good for the economy!  I’m so happy.

So, has credit been loosened for low and modest-income households for all that, as the news referred to it,  “shopping”?  Shopping?

Almost 20 inches of rain poured down on our home.  We watched a 10-foot wide stream develop behind our home, creating a surreal backdrop for our white picket fence and barberry.  A few hours later, we discovered the lower level of our home became an enchanted grotto complete with miraculous spring.

After a long and weary day, two rooms of furniture had been emptied into the garage.  My garage was largely spared from flooding.  What luck.  I wouldn’t have wanted my cars to be sitting in 4 inches of water.

We called disaster clean-up companies and left messages.  We were so hoping to spend $3,000 on mold abatement and water removal.  Several follow-up calls resulted in knowledge that we were “on the list”.  “On the list” means that you sit around and learn to enjoy the mildew odor wafting thru the rest of the house.

On the second full day, while enjoying my status “on the list”, I decided to handle the matter pro se.  As the water level had leveled off, in lieu of a pump, I used a garden hose to start siphoning out the water and dragged in the wet vac.  Later that evening, after downing several Advil for back pain, I skillfully removed the thick, heavy-with-water carpeting and pad with a very sharp utility knife in 4 foot sections.  The carpet surgery was a success.

On the third day, we schlepped around for 5 hours looking for dehumidifiers, an extra wet vac or pump, commercial fans and overpriced cleaning products.  I don’t call this “shopping”.  I didn’t pilot the family SUV through gridlock down to the mall to browse thru Disasters R Us.  No and tsk.

While most folks wait to see how their insurer or FEMA will assist them, they’re hitting the road to snap up mightily scarce products to save their homes and possessions– you know, the stuff they really did purchase in the “shopping” sense.  The credit cards are maxed out, the checking and savings emptied, if indeed they weren’t registering empty prior to the deluge.

So, let’s all head out and shop up a storm, survivors!  The economy is depending on you.

(Note: My Prayers are with families who have lost loved ones or suffered material losses so much greater than ours.)

About ProBonoGA

Lawyer and justice architect wannabe... I am the pro bono director for Georgia Legal Services Program and direct a program that is funded by GLSP and the State Bar of Georgia. I am a lawyer licensed to practice law in the state of Georgia, and not in any other jurisdiction. Nothing posted on this blog should be considered legal advice. Your use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship with me. I do not have an active legal practice and do not have clients. I am not using this site to market to clients. I do not recommend attorneys or law firms. If I reference an attorney or a law firm in this blog, I do so to tell a story, make a point, or urge you to think about an issue presented by that attorney or law firm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

