Ennui


The desk tells the tale.

Several stacks of paper-clipped documents take on the nature of a tablecloth, of sorts, for my desk. You see alongside these neatly arranged stacks my Mitel telephone and headset. I use a headset so I can talk and type at the same type. The metal ring of the headset irritates my balding pate where the metal crosses over my head from ear to ear.

Farther to the right along the U that is my desk sits my 19” monitor. I like my flat screen monitor. I’m waiting for my intern to leave. I purchased a new monitor for his use. Once he packs up and heads off to Big Law, I will swoop in and take that new flat screen monitor.

The letters on some of my keyboard keys are fading. No matter. The glare from the overhead fluorescent light washes out the letters anyway. I misspell wrods somtimes.

My laptop computer sits a little farther to the right of the monitor. I work on two computers throughout the day. The laptop is not connected to a printer. My desktop has a connection to three printers, none of which is a color printer. I do have a portable printer that I can connect to my laptop. I use a wireless connection for the laptop.

I like to keep munchies handy. In one drawer I have a granola bar, some peanuts, about a dozen napkins from Chik-Fil-A, and strawberry-flavored Fiber Choice Weight Management tablets. I found the tablets on sale at Kroger. They’re pretty tasty. My candy dish is empty. The dish last contained coconut crème Hershey kisses. That was just before Easter.

My Blackberry lies just to the left of the monitor that I will soon replace. The recharging cord is plugged in just below the desk. When I get email though Outlook, my Blackberry also flashes a red light to indicate the email has also arrived on the PDA. Sometimes I stop to see how soon the email appears on the Blackberry after it posts in Outlook.

I have a floor-to-ceiling window that serves as an interior wall. A mini-blind is encased between the vertical uprights of the window. I never close the blinds.

I have three clocks on my desk. Not one of them keeps time. They were gifts. Now they are paperweights. I’ll replace the battery in the clocks when I figure out how to open them. I have an LSC Yes! button lying next to one of the still clocks.

I used to have a pristine bumper sticker that read “Pro bono attorneys do it for free.” I left it out on my desk for several years, then put it away.

About ProBonoGA

Lawyer and justice architect wannabe... I am the pro bono director for Georgia Legal Services Program and direct a program that is funded by GLSP and the State Bar of Georgia. I am a lawyer licensed to practice law in the state of Georgia, and not in any other jurisdiction. Nothing posted on this blog should be considered legal advice. Your use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship with me. I do not have an active legal practice and do not have clients. I am not using this site to market to clients. I do not recommend attorneys or law firms. If I reference an attorney or a law firm in this blog, I do so to tell a story, make a point, or urge you to think about an issue presented by that attorney or law firm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ennui

  1. Adrianne says:

    Two things:

    (1) I had no idea coconut creme Hershey kisses existed. Must find some immediately!

    (2) That is a fabulous bumper sticker.

  2. Susan says:

    You forgot the framed cover of the children’s book “Goodnight Moon.”

Leave a Reply

