Bird without a nest


I’ve been struggling to write some fresh perspective on pro bono.  The stories about how pro bono service is positive and life-changing for both the volunteer and the client never fail to move me.  But I usually remain anxious.

“Bird without a nest” is a statement of my anxiety.

I usually start my writing process with some kernel of truth,  and roll it around in words and phrases, kind of like an odd linguistic breading that coats a hidden tasty morsel.  Or so I plan.

“Bird without a nest” popped into my head last May in drowsy moments of contemplation.  I immediately captured the syllables and ushered them into a title field for a justice blog post and spent a late night hour or so earnestly believing I could craft a compelling, if not relevant and interesting, blog article around such a potent title.  I surrendered and saved the post as a draft.  Almost six months later I return to the orphaned article.

For me, upon reflection I can now say the concept of a “bird without a nest” conjures up an immediacy, a lack of home, an existence without a context.  Pro bono is the bird without a nest, an itinerant entity in search of welcome and shelter.

When I was 10 years old, a repairmen appeared at our house to fix the water heater.  The coldish, rainy April morning unfolded as I played outside between bouts of mist.  Along the sidewalk that lead to our back porch I stopped in my play to focus on a tiny, near-featherless bird, so small and shiny, and I imagined rightly that it was a newborn.  It glistened wet and it wobbled, its head so large for its tiny body.  I felt a mixture of fear and pity.  The repairman appeared along beside me, removed a pair of pliers from his belt, knelt and crushed the bird’s head.  Then he wiped the pliers in the damp grass along the sidewalk and headed to his truck.

About ProBonoGA

Lawyer and justice architect wannabe... I am the pro bono director for Georgia Legal Services Program and direct a program that is funded by GLSP and the State Bar of Georgia. I am a lawyer licensed to practice law in the state of Georgia, and not in any other jurisdiction. Nothing posted on this blog should be considered legal advice. Your use of this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship with me. I do not have an active legal practice and do not have clients. I am not using this site to market to clients. I do not recommend attorneys or law firms. If I reference an attorney or a law firm in this blog, I do so to tell a story, make a point, or urge you to think about an issue presented by that attorney or law firm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

